Monthly Rewind: January 2018

Perhaps it’s weird that I can still have a wrap-up without blogging all that much, but I kept a promise to myself to blog more often, even if it means I’m rambling a lot. Despite my inactive first month, I’ve been reading a bit more – not the amount I used to read, but it’s enough to feel like I’m getting back on track.

L I F E

  • New Year’s Resolution | I actually set myself proper new resolutions which I intend to stick to. TLDR: Blog more frequently, read more, improve Bengali and do booktube.
  • Finish the first semester at university | because my timetable meant I only came in two days a week, it didn’t really feel like going to university, if that makes any sense. Luckily for me, my timetable for the second semester is a bit better, and I can plan work and other stuff around it more efficiently.
  • I also remade my Muslims in YA list. The previous one was two years old and severely outdated. You can now find it here (still a work in progress though!!)

B O O K S

monthlyrewind_jan18

Continue reading “Monthly Rewind: January 2018”

Advertisements

Book Review: Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

Book Review: Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

my rating: ★★☆☆☆

* I received an ARC of this book from the publisher through NetGalley. This in no way affected my opinion of the book.

Can I just say how I love that ‘fike’ was just completely removed from the novel entirely?

I am pretty sure that I said in my review of the first part that I wasn’t going to read this once the book came out. I didn’t request the full version so I could bash it, I wanted to go back into this with the belief it could be better. I felt low key guilty of how harsh I was on the snippet, and now that it’s the full story that has been edited so I thought, how bad can it be now? And it is bad. Which is so disappointing because it has a strong concept and inkling of a decent plot which flopped really severely.

Continue reading “Book Review: Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings”

Backlog reviews #1

These are all reviews of books I had received during my semi-hiatus but I found it too late or not enough time to post a full review of them. (excluding WITCH because I’m not good at reviewing poetry so I kept it short and placed it in here)

I received an ARC of each book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The witch doesn’t burn in this one, Amanda Lovelace | a witchy poetry sequel – ★ ★ ★ – WITCH is the sequel to PRINCESS. It’s short, a little repetitive in my opinion, but very good. Although I’m no longer a fan of this poetry style and though I enjoyed the first collection more, WITCH is a decent second instalment with a newer empowering selection of poetry.

27 hours, Tristina Wright | distant sci-fi adventure where a group of teens have only hours to save their home – ★ ★ ★ – I’m quite in the middle with this book. There were select moments which were quite thrilling but then I found myself quite bored a lot of the time, especially with its world-building. Aimal says it much better than I could ever about its colonialism issue. (Also, I suggest you follow her – her blog is great) I don’t intend to read its sequel but its cliff-hanger ending that peaked my interest – will depend on future reviews of the sequel.

Love, hate and other filters, Samira Ahmed | an aspiring filmmaker faces conflicting choices in the face of a terror attack – ★ ★ ★ – An interesting read, I enjoyed the focus on her conflicting identity as Maya deals with family, education and her future. There’s important dialogue within the story, the romance is really cute but the plot didn’t grip me as much as I thought it would.

I Am Thunder, Mohammad Khan | A story of a young teen being pulled into extremism. – ★ ★ – The overall plot and concept were great. You witness how Muzna is swept along unknowingly into a dangerous lifestyle through manipulation and grooming. I just didn’t enjoy the character voice and the pacing was a bit off.

God, Reza Aslan | a human look of the account of God – ★ ★ ★ – Aslan studies the human development between of the relationship between God and man and it’s very fascinating. A non-scientific approach with an interesting analysis that actually made me want to learn more. I hope I find the chance to read on this later.

[CLOSED] Twitter giveaway of Love, Hate & Other Filters

Hello! I’m currently holding a Twitter giveaway of Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed! Here’s the link!

Rules

  • Follow and RT
  • Ends January 15th @ 6 PM GMT
  • INTERNATIONAL IF BOOK DEPOSITORY SHIPS TO YOU
  • Please be comfortable with giving me your email/ home address. (the email address is so I can forward you a copy of the purchase receipt)

Book description from Goodreads

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Hello, 2018…

Hello, 2018…

It feels like coming back to an empty house writing this. I feel like I can see the invisible cobwebs hanging from the posts and pages. But I hope to change my inactivity by being more active on this site. I wasn’t sure how to do this, but I thought maybe it would be interesting to share my reflections of the past year and how I was to change this year and setting myself better, more concise goals.

What didn’t work for me in 2017 was letting way to much things like fear get in my ways of things. It wasn’t a good year for me, 2017, I was seriously stressed and anxious 24/7 about my retakes and making sure I get into university. I was constantly shutting down a lot and only focused on revising and working. And that was it. This site was created in my first year of college, three years ago, and it became a source of comfort for me. But the last year seriously messed with my head and my focus became making some money and having some educational stability. So this site became sorely neglected and that made me mad but I couldn’t do anything about it. I looked back at the past three years and I’ve realised how happy this site has made me. I loved reading, but I had no one to talk too – my family are casual readers and don’t like the genres I read. The idea of blogging is alien to them and most see it as having zero value. So I’m planning to be better on this site since it has helped me so much.

This year I want to focus on creating and planning. Planning a better blog schedule, planning some sort of life plan, and planning in general since I seem to lack in that area. I started university last year (studying sociology) but from my experience of the first term, I seriously need to sort out a better uni/home/work balance.

How I want to change in 2018

My new year resolutions are quite simple.

  • Read at least 150 books (part Goodreads challenge, part me being disappointed about the lack of reading I did last year)
  • Learn Bengali – Improve would be a better choice since I can partially speak it because of my family but its terrible and I don’t know how to write it so that’s something I’m definitely focused on this year.
  • Save money – doesn’t everyone?
  • Vlog – if you were quick enough to see them, I made two videos last year but quickly made them private after a couple of days. But I want to vlog more, but I need to get over my fear of being on camera.

Enough of me, I’d love to hear your plans for 2018!! I’m just hoping I’ll stick to my plan, considering I kept it quite simple, I’m excited to see if everything goes to plan!! (and for you as well I hope)

Book Review: Waking Gods

Book Review: Waking Gods

After the events of Sleeping Giants, where a crew had located pieces of an unknown being which were scattered across the world and put them back together again. Now in the second book of the series, Neuvel takes the story and raises the stakes and gives us a terrifying insight at what an alien invasion might be like.

Set ten years after the first book, the US has formed a defense group in order study Themis, the giant robot that was found previously. We’re quickly brought up to speed about what the characters have been up to: Vincent and Kara are still piloting Themis. Rose is still trying to recollect herself after her memory loss. Everything is quiet until another one comes – much larger than Themis and possibly even more dangerous. Everyone must come back together in order to solve the mystery as to why.

The Themis Files is truly one of my favourite series. It’s just so much fun and has so many surprises.  So much happens in a short amount of times. And you’re led to believe that Themis is good but things have changed so much. The pacing is so fast but still leaves a readable plot. Things get violent but not in a gory descriptive way, it was very horrific to read half of the stuff that happens in here. It’s a very powerful follow up to Sleeping Giants.

For some reason with the first book, it took a while for the style of narration to grow on me. I wasn’t even sure if I had liked it back then but now it really appealed to me and I love this style. Something about it – the interviews, journals, and radio – really works for me now. Our mystery narrator was also a question mark for me in book one but all my questions about him were answered and we really do see a vulnerable side to this all-powerful narrator. There’s also a spark that came from reading Sleeping Giants that I felt like it was missing here but it’s still a worthy sequel.

Overall, an interesting sequel that carries over the stakes from the previous novel. And that epilogue was truly a shock. I thought this might be a duology since the story felt close to being finished but Nuevel drops a bomb off a cliffhanger. I truly cannot wait for the next installment.


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | THE BOOK DEPOSITORY |

tw: major character deaths, sudden death (if you’ve read the book and feel like I’ve missed something out, please tell me!)